A former royal residence, the castle has seen a succession of illustrious names in French history, such as Robert de l’Isle, Anne de Ronsard and her husband the Treasurer of France, Charles VII, Louis XI and the Duke of Choiseul. Each in turn, they undertook various enlargements, embellishments and modifications to have the current building.
Since 1942, the castle (facades, elevations and roofs) and its park are classified as Historic Monuments, attesting to the architectural and historical quality of the whole.
The estate has been reinvented throughout history. The defensive stronghold has become a charming hotel with restaurant and reception activity.
The building is on four levels, including an attic. The construction is made of tufa stone and the roofs are of slate. The facades are framed by circular towers. One of them has a base of corbels supporting a stone hoarding. The facade openings are completed with stone mullions in the form of a cross. On the attic floor, light penetrates through wooden dormers with a triangular pediment.